Na Piarsaigh Limerick

Munster Club Champions 2013

Munster Club Hurling Champions for the second time in three years has a very nice ring to it. Having lost the enforced toss of the coin all roads led to the home of Clare hurling Cusack Park Ennis. It was evident from the outset that the lads meant business and when Shane Dowling played a brilliant through pass for Kevin Downes to rifle to the net inside the first minute it was liftoff.

The team were playing with huge committment and great teamwork and some great scores were taken inside the first half hour. A brace from Adrian Breen along with points from David Dempsey and a long ranger from Pat Gleeson had us to -the ascendancy.
A brilliant point on the run from the left touchline by Shane Dowling sent us in at the break 1-08 to 0-05.

The backs were immense throughout the game especially man of the match Cathal King who snuffed out the threat of the evergreen Niall Gilligan.He was ably assisted by Kieran Breen, Michael Casey and David Breen who never put a foot out of place.

The second half started in a similiar vein to the first when Kevin Ryan got the deftest of touches to a long delivery to raise our second green flag. The handbrake was off at last and the lads really hurled without the pressure. Points from Alan Dempsey who was excellent at midfield along with three more from my man of the match Kevin Ryan pushed us further ahead. Adrian Breen got in on the act with fifteen minutes left following up his own blocked effort to all but finish the contest. At this stage Sean Stack had emptied the subs bench allowing the all important extended panel a run out.

Last word went to David Sheppard who capitalised on a blunder by the Bridge keeper to score our fourth goal of the game.

An excellent performance by an extremely dedicated bunch of players . No doubt the will all enjoy the break and return refreshed in the new year for the next challenge in the shape of the Joe Canning led Portumna in February.

Scorers: Shane Dowling(0-5,4f), Kevin Ryan (1-3), Adrian Breen( 1-2), Kevin Downes(1-0), David Sheppard(1-0),Alan Dempsey(0-2), David Dempsey(0-1), Pat Gleeson(0-1).

Team: Padraic Kennedy, Cathal King, Kieran Breen, Michael Casey, Niall Buckley, David Breen, James O Brien(capt), Alan Dempsey, Pat Gleeson, William O Donoghue, Kevin Downes, David Dempsey, Kevin Ryan, Shane Dowling, Adrian Breen.

Subs used: vKieran Kennedy, David Sheppard, Brian Hartnett, Damien Quigley, John Madden

A huge thank you to all our supporters who responded to our rallying call on the day.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :
%d bloggers like this: