Na Piarsaigh Limerick

Feile Footballers dream ends in narrow defeat







Pride of place this week goes to our Under 14 footballers who travelled to Mayo/Roscommon for the annual Feile Peil na nOg.

Our first destination was Strokestown GAA Club in Roscommon for our first two group games versus Cortoon Shamrocks of Galway and Fanad Gaels of Donegal.
The lads hit the ground running and we opened a good lead and one which we would never relinquish.
We finished on a final score of 4-9 to 2-0.
After half an hour we were back in action this time against Fanad Gaels of Donegal.
The Donegal boys had won their first game so we were fully aware of their threat.
RIght from the throw in the lads were switched on and some wonderful team play had us in control from early on.
Goals from Liam Barry, Emmett McEvoy, James Daly and David O Byrne were enough to see us home on a scoreline of 4-7 to 0-6.
From Roscommon we headed to Mayo and Hollymount to meet our host club.
Several of the parents enjoying the hospitality of the local establishments and then it was an early start on Saturday for game 3 versus Hollymount Carramore .
This game was a tough encounter and it took us a while to get to grips with the locals.
However true grit and determination saw us through on a scoreline of 3-5 to 1-1.
We were back on our travels again to Strokestown for the quarter finals where this time we met the locals Strokestown.
It was nip and tuck for long periods but goals from Keith Dempsey and Emmett McEvoy saw us over the line and a semi final spot on the Sunday morning.
Our semi final opponents were Ashbourne of Meath who were a big physical team.
We started slowly and found ourselves 2 goals down at the break.
However as was the case all weekend our lads showed tremendous fighting spirit and clawed their way back into the game.
With only minutes remaining and a point in arrears we had two frees to level the game but unfortunately lady luck deserted us and unfortunately our journey came to an end.
The team and mentors were an absolute pleasure to work with and a credit to their club and county.
For the record the team was Eoin Sherlock, Killian Dineen, David Ryan, Sean Long, Jack Hardaker, Shane Harney, Conor Moloney, Dean O Donnell, Jack Barry, Liam Barry, Jay Hickey, James Daly, John Leahy, Adam McNamara, Ralph Leonard, Ian Leonard, David O Byrne, Emmett McEvoy, Keith Dempsey, Evan Sheehan, Jack O Sullivan.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :
%d bloggers like this: