Na Piarsaigh Limerick

Under 21 Hurlers into another County Final

Our under 21 hurlers were in County Semi Final action on Monday night when they travelled to Rhebogue to take on Adare

Played in a gale force wind this Under 21 premier semi final was always going to be decided by who could manage the wind better. The wind favoured neither team blowing directly cross the field , the strength of it cannot be underestimated.
It was nip and tuck with the ground underfoot not conducive to flowing hurling.
The opening ten mins saw Adare take a two points to one lead , our point coming from a free from Peter Casey.
Midway through the half good work from Michael Foley in the halfback line found David Dempsey in space who offloaded to Kieran Daly in the corner and he rifled to the net. It was just the lead Na Piarsaigh needed and we kept it right up to the break where we lead 1-4 to 4 points.
Our points all coming from frees, where credit must be given to Peter and Ronan in the conditions they were very difficult to score.
Temperatures heated up on the pitch after half time, every ball hotly contested and the referee issued a few yellow cards to dampen the enthusiasm , we traded points before Adare made a sniping run on goal , which led to a 21 yard free. The resultant shot on goal was brought away by Michael Casey and this proved to be turning point.
Mark Buckley made some telling interceptions and sub Dylan Cronin struck over two fine points and captain William o’Donoghue added another to leave a final score of Na Piarsaigh 1-9 , Adare 0-6.
It was a great win in the conditions, a real team performance and we head now to another final against Doon on the weekend of the 10-12 April where we will be aiming to win an unpresedented four in a row.
No doubt a tough ask but one the lads are really looking forward to.

Evan Condon, Evan O’Brien, Mark Buckley ,Gordan Brown , Michael Foley , Ronan Lynch (0-1f), Michael Casey , Eoghan Keogh , Wiliam O’Donoghue (0-1), Thomas Grimes, David Dempsey , Peter Casey (0-5f), Evan Egan, Dean McLaughlin, Kieran Daly(1-0) . Conor Boylan (Egan h/t), Dylan Cronin(Keogh 45)(-02).

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :
%d bloggers like this: